Day Eleven – Lazy Monday

Dear Reader,

Today has been a pretty lazy day.  I almost forgot to write a post today and took hardly any photographs so this post will be short and sweet I think.

We had a good weekend.  The sun came out to play and so we headed off to Nostell Priory near Wakefield for a picnic and and afternoon exploring the grounds and, inevitably, the adventure playground.  Dan always puts together a brilliant picnic and there was no exception this time.  It was nice to be all together and we had a great time.  There were a few behavioural blips along the way but we got there in the end.

On Sunday evening we headed out to play Pokemon Go again and we were lucky enough to stop two deer in the woods drinking from a stream at dusk.  It was really very special.  I was also unfortunate enough to almost get knocked down by a cyclist who literally had his eyes closed – I kid you not!  Anyway, I survived unscathed and went on to catch a few more Pokemon before we headed home.  I’m told by my son that Pokemon is the plural and not Pokemons but please feel free to debate the issue.

Ewan seems to be getting a bit better in terms of his flexibility and co-operation.  He’s still objecting in strong terms when things don’t go his way but is starting to listen and respond when I explain things to him.

Today we had planned to stay around the house as we had been busy at the weekend and both children have enjoyed the opportunity to play outside with other local children.  Later on, one of the kids from the next street came in for a couple of hours and they made paper planes and then did some painting.  We didn’t really have a main activity as such today but the kids were happy to amuse themselves and it’s been a mixture of lots of different things.

Today’s Menu

Breakfast – Breakfast Pancakes

Served with different toppings; honey, yoghurt, strawberries, raspberries, jam, chocolate spread.  I mixed some blueberries into the mixture for me after I’d cooked theirs and I have to say these were delicious with lemon curd on them – try it.

Lunch – Chicken and Sweetcorn Soup

Served with crackers today.

Dinner – Spaghetti and Meatballs

A slow cooker dish again.  Into the pot goes; half a chopped onion, diced carrot, canned tomatoes, bay leaf, handful of red lentils, chopped garlic, glass of red wine.

For the meatballs mix together half a chopped onion, a grated carrot and 400g turkey mince.  I added some dried herbs and salt and pepper too and then shaped into 20 meatballs and put them in the fridge for a couple of hours.  After the sauce had been cooking for a few hours I popped the meatballs gently into the sauce (uncooked) and then left it alone for about 5 hours.  Serve with cooked pasta. I forgot to take a proper picture so this one doesn’t really do it justice as it’s the leftovers and it looks watery but you get the idea I hope.

image

Highs and Lows

Highs – We’ve had a really chilled out day, no food refusals today, I had time to do a little reading, there was NO fighting whilst I was in the shower, there was some left over dinner for us to save for another time.

Lows – There are paper planes all over the house, there was a lot of clearing up to do after the kids and their friend turned the kitchen into what looked like a post modern art installation with their painting, the muffin I had for dessert was half warm and half frozen, we are fast running out of milk again as Ewan is on another unexpected milk drinking marathon.

Overall

Kids Fun Rating – 3 1/2 *s

Healthy Eating – Some success

Exercise – Failure (Mimi had swimming this afternoon though)

Miles Driven – 4 miles (to Mimi’s regular swimming session)

Money Spent – £1.49 (some Parmesan cheese from the co-op)

Tomorrow and Wednesday the children are having some time with their grandparents and so I will be blogging about some other issues which are important to me.  I hope you come back to find out more.

Leave a comment